Sleep Inertia, Morning Classes and Corporate Life

Wake up! Sleep inertia might be paralyzing our ability to think clearly when we awake from sleep… A study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, should be of interest for people who are expected to perform immediately upon awakening such as physicians, pilots, truck drivers, military personnel and engineering students… and engineering student who’ll turn corporate…

Scientists have found that many of us suffer from early morning sleep inertia… Here is a description from the Roads and Traffic Authority of NSW, in Australia:

Sleep inertia is the feeling of grogginess after awakening and temporarily reduces your ability to perform even simple tasks. Sleep inertia can last from 1 minute to 4 hours, but typically lasts 15-30 minutes. Severity of sleep inertia is dependent on how long you have been asleep and the stage of sleep at awakening. Effects can be severe if a person is very sleep deprived or has been woken from a deep sleep stage. However, sleep inertia can usually be reversed within 15 minutes by activity and noise. Sleep inertia can affect a person’s ability to drive safely. Sleep inertia can be very dangerous for people who drive in the early morning hours and shortly after waking up from a sleep.


I think for everyone around me I know, our sleep inertia lasts for more than 4 hours and that pretty much kills our morning decision making abilities…like goin to class.. or takin an early morning bus… or not reading blogs so early up.. So If you are reading this early in the morning, here is my advice: Go back to bed and actualize Newton’s first law of motion: A body at rest tends to stay at rest…

Corporate life is tough and that I found out…I mean how the hell can people accomplish so much from 9am to 5pm, while I constantly strive to switch myself on and do somethin useful…hell, I just strive… I figured out I can complete my days work from 9 pm to 12:30am…no breaks… but no one is listenin.. !!

+ this sleep inertia has had such a strong effect on me… its so comfortable to sleep in class with a certain monotonic voice helpin so much… but here.. its a different scene altogether… Five out of the five days, I have been yawning at my table … Just like everyone else in this office… And every time this happens, my mind just tends to wander and I end up being hardly productive and daydreaming…: D

Every day, I try something to keep from getting sleepy :

  • Monday – overdose on coffee !!
  • Tuesday – talk and text endlessly on the phone !!
  • Wednesday – overdose on chewing gums.. !!
  • Thursday – powernaps (10-minute naps that I take in the comfort room cubicle of my office) when everyone has gone for lunch.. !!
  • Friday – stretching and light exercises walkin around the campus.. !!

Results: It hasn’t really helped…


Pleasant dreams….


P.S. Any spelling of grammar errors in this post are due to S.I. and not any carelessness on my part.

2 thoughts on “Sleep Inertia, Morning Classes and Corporate Life

Leave a Reply

