The Origins of Maggie

Hmm… So all was goin well as I was into my third year at bansal classes (did a diploma course there I reckon)… when one fine mornin our very beloved Bansal Sir ceded our request for a grand party… and announced that there’ll be another very fine mornin in the coming few days… A day party… 12th and 13th combined (13th being the acronym for the repeaters there)… clear blue skies, lush greenery all around… trees waving… eagles flyin at a distant height… this is how we were to picture the upcomin grandeur celebration… and it wasn’t unexpected… there were 2 official reasons… His son Sameer’s marriage and New Year (On record for the max no. of selections from Bansal, 955 is an awesome figure afterall)…

Anyway… So the venue and menu finally got decided… No problems concerning either of them… You dont have options in Kota for an expected gatherin of 3000+… and if u can arrange for chefs from the north… there is no point lookin for other options…

Some of the enthu ppl like us started practicin their various creative forms of art… music, dram, dance, masala, mimicry, comedy, PJin etc… It was a good excuse to ditch studies for a while…
All this time… I pondered if the show cud do well with an anchor and most certainly an anchoress… But the management had different ideas… different until noon the day before… when everyone actually realised… we needed one…

2 ppl volunteered… (there were only 2 coz no one knew they were supposed to do it )… and the second fella didn’t turn up… for whatever reasons… and the one fella left was the automatic choice… That happened to be me…

So… while the hunt for an anchoress was still on… I think of the stage scenario… clear blue skies, lush greenery all around… trees wavin… eagles flyin at a distant height… somebody just got married… and new year which we all were lookin forward to with high hopes… So I somehow figured out the classical approach of hosting to be the best one… It was a silly idea, but I realised it only after the show… 🙂

And by evenin… I was introducing myself to the anchoress after she had gone through a lot of screenin process by the other guys… I saw her for the first time in the insti… And after the usual intros… all we decided on was the costume… (The only part I think that went correct that day)… and that she would do all the talkin in Hindi… while I’ll take up english… (another blunder, I guess)…

The new year eve passes by preparin the script for the event… a 8 page text of what I intended to read…and by the time I am over with the thing, the birds are chirping all over the place.. and its mornin already…

Ok… so we meet again at the stage next mornin… the supposedly fine New Year mornin… with that fresh ray of hope and lot of other things… (Seemingly a good day till then)… and we finalize the script… mine full of colorful quotations… while she had the hindi shayars supportin her… Also, Kota has this powercut problem… and the nearest xerox machine being 2 kms away… I had to make certain number of trips to get the photocopies on time…

So, finally we r on the stage… with the people cheerin initially…last time they’d cheer for me atleast… So I first started with the routine thanksgiving to Bansal Sir for continuing splendidly with the traidition of housie… not to mention the fabulous way he directs the game…

So then when I praise the crowd for the elecrifyin atmo around… and read them out some of the most beautiful quotations of some of the best philos in business… they decide to give it back… “sutta” from pakistan had just gained popularity in this part of the world… and they decided to throw it at me… Till… I actually suggested a group of muggers to actually come on the stage to sing it for the rest of us…

Anyway… the items were all fantastic… I mean… considerin you dont get much time to prepare them… and with the costumes and stuff they managed to arrange… it was all really cool… huh… cool for the audience I guess… things backstage were a lot different… Most of the shows exceeded their previously recorded timings… either spontaneously or deliberately… Which meant my estimates given to PK Bansal sir went all haywire… and he was almost on my throat for this… The drummer had his own tale… he wanted to leave early… and wanted all the song items first… Our sweet mausiji wanted to have some people performing before the others… and no one can certainly ignore her requests… she hardly makes any… So, when I did that, the other performers were furious… Personally for me… there was sutta on the stage as well as backstage… No one was even willing to fill me my bottle of water (which emptied like anything in the scorching heat)…

Hmm… and the cycle went on like that… PKB remindin me sternly about certain punctualities… Sameer Sir wantin me to add substance to my text… Mausiji wantin certain performances beforehand… the audience wantin sutta (without a mention of matchsticks or matchboxes)… backstage performers repeatedly askin me about their turn to show up on stage… My text which I was not sayin at all… yeah… I could only manage to recite about a fourth of what I had written… rest was all stage fabricated… without substance though… and then the hot sweaty noon… and my leather jacket givin me no respite… PKB–punctuality–Sammeer sir–performances–night-out before–sweat—anti-cheerin–sutta—give-up–lack of substance—poor comparin–blaah blaah blaah….. All this and more… not to forget my continuously ringin cell phone… with ppl from all over the country callin to wish a new year…. wish luck to a scapegoat….

Anyway… after all this brunt… finally the teachers came on to the stage… singin dancin or watever… Till then it was sutta and my new nick Maggie all around… new year… new dawn… and a new name… And this name went on to create history… Ever since then, half of Bansal Classes called me by that name… and even here in IIT… ppl hardly know me as PrateeK…. its maggie all over… Hmm… the party endin on a high note… coz the teachers were always entertainin… and also coz half the people didn’t get any food to eat… while the other half couldn’t arrange for a means to get back to apna vigyan nagar… But somehow… things got over… hush…

Lessons… never take english seriously… never think of things formally… and never underestimate ur audience… the numbers are lethal… and what they can do to your day is…

Cheers mate… Its time for Maggie…!!

Leave a Reply

